About SSRC

About SSRC

We create new ways of thinking about complex problems.

 

The MIT Sociotechnical Systems Research Center (SSRC) is an interdisciplinary research center that focuses on the study of high-impact, complex, sociotechnical systems that shape our world.

SSRC brings together faculty, researchers, students and staff from across MIT to study and seek solutions to complex societal challenges that span healthcare, energy, infrastructure networks, environment and international development.

Our mission is to develop collaborative, holistic and systems-based approaches that combine knowledge and expertise from engineering and social sciences. SSRC is affiliated with the MIT Institute for Data, Systems and Society (IDSS).

Inside SSRC

Fostering Collaboration

Connecting interdisciplinary faculty, researchers and students across MIT departments, labs, institutes and centers.

Creating Connections

Joining MIT researchers with domestic and international partners that include government, industry, foundations and non-profits.

Grant Management

Overseeing the full grant life cycle from pre-award to closeout. Includes HR, fiscal forecasting, visa applications, space, reporting and more.

MIT Community

Supporting faculty, staff, postdocs and students to better navigate resources and processes.

SSRC Headquarters

Ali Jadbabaie

Ali Jadbabaie

Director of SSRC

JR East Prof. of Engineering
Associate Director, IDSS
jadbabaie@mit.edu
research website

Erin Schenck

Erin Schenck

Administrative Officer

eschenck@mit.edu
617-253-5120

April London

April London

Financial Officer

alondon@mit.edu
617-253-4955

Teni Adeniyi

Teni Adeniyi

Senior HR Representative

tadeniyi@mit.edu
617-253-7633

Peter Gibson

Peter Gibson

Administrative Assistant II

ptg@mit.edu
617-253-7298

Laura Dorson

Laura Dorson

Assistant to the Director

ldorson@mit.edu
617-324-9622

Jake Bankert

Jake Bankert

Financial Assistant II

jbankert@mit.edu
617-715-5476

Creating new ways to tackle complex, global problems.

See Our Latest Research